Book Review | Daughter of the Sun by Zoe Kalo

Displaying DaughteroftheSun_cover.jpg

Title: Daughter of the Sun (Cult of the Cat series, Book 1)
Author: Zoe Kalo
Genre: YA mythological fantasy
Word count: 93,000 words
Release date: May 1, 2016

Lately, I’ve had a void in my reading life (?) in the shape of an urban fantasy. Suffice to say, Daughter of the Sun by Zoe Kalo absolutely did not disappoint.

So, this book is about a girl, Trinity, who was orphaned and left to be raised in a convent, when one day she is told that she has a grandmother. Now, Trinity knows nothing abut this new life of hers, except for the fact that her grandmother had been searching for her and had now found her. So she ends up on The Island of Cats, where her grandmother lives and is introduced to a whole new world. But, it’s all up to her to find out what or who she is. It’s refreshing how the main character’s heritage isn’t just thrust upon her and that she has to work for it.

All I can say is wow. Since the first few pages of the book, I was hooked. I read this everywhere: the airport, the grocery store check out line, in line for customer service, anywhere that I could because I did not want to put it down. This book is why I carried my kindle everywhere I went.

I think the reason for this is that I absolutely loved the main character, Trinity. She’s not your typical whiny, stubborn main character. She deals with a hell of a lot in this book but somehow she doesn’t channel that into going on and on about how she has to deal with so much and that she’s not meant for this. She takes it all very well and in a way I appreciate. I think if I were in her position, I’d revert to being a whiner but she’s just so mature. She’s determined, but not stubborn and that is something I loved. She knew when to accept defeat, when not to and that’s what drawing the line between determination and stubbornness is all about.

This book also has characters that you’ll love and hate. Those being her cousin, Ara who had her moments and I ended up loving, and Dr. Nassri, Ara’s mother whom I loathed. For good reasons, too. And then came Seth. Seth was Trinity’s love interest and someone who seemed really normal on the outside but was made to come to terms with his family heritage, which we don’t find out about until the latter part of the book.

The Egyptian mythology in this book was so well done, and wasn’t too much at once, which I liked. In some books, I could almost feel myself falling asleep when the myth part came in but it wasn’t the case with this book. The ending was so brilliantly done, with ‘oh my God, what?’ moments and it was open. Without knowing it, I was at the end, and was like, ‘Okay, nice, onto the next chapter,’ but there wasn’t any and it made me really pumped to read the next book.

All in all, it was a great read that I would absolutely recommend.

About the Author

A certified bookworm, Zoe Kalo has always been obsessed with books and reading.
Reading led to writing—compulsively. No surprise that at 16, she wrote her first novel,
which her classmates read and passed around secretly. The pleasure of writing and
sharing her fantasy worlds has stayed with her, so now she wants to pass her stories to
you with no secrecy—but with lots of mystery…
A daughter of adventurous expats, she’s had the good fortune of living on 3 continents,
learning 4 languages, and experiencing a multicultural life. Currently, she’s working on a
Master’s degree in Comparative Literature, which she balances between writing, taking
care of her clowder of cats, and searching for the perfect bottle of pinot noir.
Connect with Zoe Kalo on the web: www.ZoeKalo.com 

This review is part of the Blogger Outreach Program by b00k r3vi3w Tours

Here’s the Amazon Purchase link

Check it out on Goodreads here

 

Leave a Reply

