Book Review | Windrunner’s Daughter by Bryony Pearce

Windrunner’s Daughter by
Bryony Pearce
Genre: YA Sci-fi
Release Date: February 4th 2016
Xist Publishing

This book. THIS. BOOK. I literally devoured it in two sittings and was left wanting more even though this is a standalone (I think). This book is so, so well written and the world building is on point. This is everything I wanted in a dystopia/sci-fi book and more.

I’ll attempt to give a small understanding of what the story is about underneath but I’ll most likely not do a very good job at it because this story is not something that can be easily summarized.

This book is a about a girl, Wren, whose mother is dying and family is missing when she decides to do something completely out of the ordinary and not to mention illegal in their world, which is to Run, in search for a cure and her father and brothers. The store is set on Mars. Mars, guys, MARS. The Earth is dead and people have been living on this planet for quite some time now. There are two groups of people, the Runners and Grounders, the Runners being the ones who carry messages from one colony to the other, by flying. This concept was just so different and unique, that the book had me gripped from the start. At places it reminded me immensely of Scorch Trials by James Dashner but better with lots of twists and turns along the way. It also dealt with the way Wren broke free of the stereotypes that prevented her from doing what she really wanted and I think that this was basically what called out to me.

I absolutely adored the main character, Wren and the fact that she was the same age as me made it all the more easier to imagine what I would do if I were in her shoes and she deals with everything thrown her way so well. The story took sharp turns along the way that left me like, ‘What now?’ and many characters were introduced.

Along with Wren is Raw, a Grounder, and from the start they hate each other. It was absolutely refreshing to see it blossom to something more rather than have them fall in instalove. And what’s amazing is that Raw is so much more than just the side-kick man-candy kind of character. He’s multilayered and the best part is that he’s not like every other love interest there is. He’s scarred, literally, and has so much going on underneath, that you can’t help but want to know more about.

And can we just talk about the world that this author has created? It’s breathtaking. If she ever wrote a sequel or anything set in this world, I’d definitely be up for reading it.

I can’t say much more without giving away things which you’d rather read.

All in all, I’d give this book five stars and I absolutely recommend it to anyone reading this.

Add to Goodreads

Author Links:WebsiteGoodreadsTwitter

Book Tour organised by YA Bound Book Tours

Leave a Reply

